Water Safety Awareness

Key facts


£51.00 per person

(Group rates available)

Course duration

One day


Two years

Minimum age

18 years

Download course factsheet

The RLSS UK National Water Safety Management Programme is a flexible, modular framework of qualifications.

The RLSS UK National Water Safety Management Programme starts with the Level 1 Water Safety Awareness Module which is comprised of two units. Candidates who wish to progress to Levels 2 and 3 must first successfully complete Level 1, either as a standalone module or as part of a course.


The Level 1 Water Safety Awareness module begins with a Self Study Unit which takes approximately 2 hours to complete prior to attending the face-to-face training. This leads to the Guided Learning Unit which is delivered through a 4 hour classroom based session facilitated by a RLSS UK approved Instructor. To be successful, candidates are required to competently perform a risk assessment exercise and a land based rescue. Candidates do not enter the water at Level 1.


For a copy of the current syllabus for the NWSMP, go the RLSS UK website.

© 2008-2021 Norwal Limited.

Norwal Limited is registered in England and Wales, Company Number 6279034

Registered Office: The Old Post Office, Rhiwlas, Bangor, Gwynedd, LL57 4EP

Telephone: 01248 665060