CAVA - Assessing Vocational Achievement

Key facts


£599 per person

(Group rates available)

Course duration

Three days face-to-face, plus practical tasks in the workplace.



Minimum age

19 years


Download course factsheet

QA Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement (RQF)

This qualification comprises three units:

  • Unit 1 - understanding the principles and practices of assessment

  • Unit 2 - assess vocational skills, knowledge and understanding

  • Unit 3 - assess occupational competence in the work environment

The QA Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement (RQF) is a regulated and nationally recognised qualification that has been specifically designed for those who wish to:

  • Assess occupational competence in the work environment and

  • Assess vocational skills, knowledge and understanding outside the work environment i.e. in a training setting


Transferable to any sector in which the candidate has occupational competence, this qualification provides a national benchmark for best practice in assessing. Some of the key topics covered include: principles andpractices of assessment, how to assess vocational skills, how to assess occupational competence in the work environment, and quality assurance in the assessment process.


Successful candidates will leave with the knowledge, skills and understanding required to successfully perform the role of assessor for competency based qualifications, such as NVQs, as well as vocational qualifications, such as first aid.

Other qualifications are available if you only complete:

Unit 1 - QA Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment (RQF)

Units 1 & 2 - QA Level 3 Award in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement (RQF)

Units 1 & 3 - QA Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Work Environment (RQF)

You can book the face-to-face training for Unit 1 below. The course trainer will then discuss arrangements for completing Units 2 and 3 in your workplace.